Most also reported that the transition was either as expected or easier than expected, with 43% saying it was as expected and 36% easier.

However, almost a quarter of those taking part said that the switch was ‘a big deal/painful,’ with a further 17% opting for ‘a medium deal.’

One thunderbolt to USB adapter, and a USB-c hub did the trick. Everything is hooked up without a hitch.

[…]

For me it’s been pretty painless. I bought new wires for almost all my devices (generally connect 3 including power) and 1 adapter for those rare times I need USB-A.

Everything work working flawlessly here. Just waiting on thunder dock 3 to get here then I will have only one cable connected to my laptop awesome!

There has been further controversy on the battery life front, with Consumer Reports saying this was the first MacBook they could not recommend – though its test results were odd to say the least.

The change is expensive, unsupported by most peripherals, and was done all-at-once instead of a reasonable transition time.

To me the migration to USB-C has 2 problems: it’s expensive and you cannot switch totally because even in the case of Apple not all cables can be bought USB-C (Apple Watch) and many peripherals (Logitech Mouse Dongle) are USB-A or B and not C. How long will it take to have all USB-C adapters and cables?

Everything was going great on my migration to USB-C until I discovered I have 14 built in 110vac receptacles around the house with the built in USB-A charge ports. These are going to have to be changed to USB C. :( Are there even any 110vac receptacles with USB-C charge ports yet?

As always, it should be noted that this is an indicative poll rather than a definitive one, with a self-selecting audience of techier-than-average users.

Photo: The Verge